I’m In, Deep!

This quote from Deep Purple’s lead singer Ian Gillan sums up why a lot of favorite classic rock bands don’t play in your town.

Touring the States now is a different kind of thing. It’s somehow kind of out of sync with the rest of the world at the moment. The live venues and the audience’s perception — it’s all that classic rock thing, you know? It’s very difficult to get people interested in new material in America. Whereas the average age of our audience around the world is 18 years old. The energy that we get from them is unbelievable. I think that’s probably one of the reasons that the band is so hot right now. Whereas we come to the States and the average age of the audience is the same age as us!

Read More: Deep Purple’s Ian Gillan: ‘It’s Very Difficult To Get People Interested In New Material In America’ | http://ultimateclassicrock.com/deep-purple-ian-gillan-interview-2013/?trackback=tsmclip

I’m not as old as the fans Mr. Gillan is talking about, I wasn’t even born yet when Deep purple had their first success. I became interested in their music by traveling backwards from Rainbow and Whitesnake and by discovering Hush off of Shades of Deep Purple. My interest in the band has only increased over the years since I feel like they’ve been snubbed compared to other top notch bands such as Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. Dee Purple belong in the upper echelon but they haven’t been placed there at least not in the U.S. So I was shocked to learn they would appear at the Ohio State Fair in 2015. The ad I saw that promoted the event also plugged a livestock auction and a Frankie Valli tribute band. (Shades of Spinal Tap) I had to do some research just to make sure this wasn’t a DP tribute band before making plans and buying tickets. The reaction I got from older co-workers who were around for Deep Purple’s Mark I days was mixed. Some of them weren’t interested since Ritchie Blackmore wasn’t involved and others were interested but not familiar with any of their more recent material. Now What? is a great rock record and the success it has had outside of the U.S. proves the band can still be rewarded for a great effort. I don’t know if they believe playing shows in these kind of venues will get rock and rollers to buy something of theirs other than the latest remasters of records they already have owned but I’m elated that they are going to try. I looked up the last time Deep Purple has played in my area and the only entry I could find was when they toured with (A Paul Rodgers-less) Bad Company in 1987, so I am looking at this as a once in a lifetime opportunity. Mr. Gillan also mentioned in the article that one of the reasons they’ve avoided the U.S. for the most part is that they don’t want to play the same set list they played back in the 70’s and I can respect that. As far as I’m concern Deep Purple can play whatever it wants, I just want to see them rock!

Leave a Reply

