Bah-Bah-Bah-Bah-Bah (Sad Song)

Scrooge

I’m a bit of a Scrooge during the holidays, so my list of Christmas tunes is pretty short. There are some tracks that manage to motivate my spirit into holiday mode even if it’s only for a few minutes. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) by John Lennon, Please Come Home for Christmas by The Eagles, Springsteen’s Santa Clause is Coming to Town, Peanuts Christmas music by Vince Guaraldi and Phil Spector’s A Christmas Gift For You make up the whole list. Those are pretty standard choices but they make up a solid collection of holiday bliss and get me through the doldrums of grey skies, cold weather and crazy bargain hunters. Lennon’s track is a protest song as well as a plea and when I was a child I thought it was just another odd tune from the weirdest Beatle. It’s a beautiful and haunting track and if I were old enough in 1980 I would have felt the depth of the song but it wasn’t until adulthood that I learned to appreciate it. I loved Please Come Home for Christmas the first time I heard it, Don Henley sounded like he was born to sing it and it never fails to make me smile. Guaraldi’s music is nostalgic and like Charlie Brown the sometimes melancholy mood blends with continual hope that things will get better when you’re feeling blue. Springsteen’s Santa is just pure fun and the Spector record makes the holiday really swing. With Darlene Love, The Crystals, The Ronettes and Bob B. Soxx & the Blue Jeans how could it not? I’m sure there are other worthy songs that need to become part of my limited song list but I am a bit humbug about adding anything. The Trans Siberian Orchestra, Michael Buble, Mannheim Steamroller and whatever Rod Stewart, Barbara Streisand and others are peddling doesn’t put me in the mood and it all starts to feel overdone. I get bombarded by Disney Junior Christmas shows, which are okay (could be worse) but the music from those shows all starts to sound the same. My kids aren’t as amazed by Rudolph or any of the traditional kids classics (including Peanuts) but I keep playing them anyway. I’ll keep playing my other holiday favorites too but I admit I could use some variety to break me out of my annual Christmas funk. What are your favorites? I could always use a helpful boost to broaden my horizons so the next time Scrooge Mcduck comes on maybe my kids won’t point at him and say “Daddy!”.

2 thoughts on “Bah-Bah-Bah-Bah-Bah (Sad Song)

Leave a Reply

